Club Information

Welcome to Sugar Land Rotary!

Sugar Land Rotary

Service Above Self

Wednesdays except last Wednesday of each month 11:45 am -1:00 pm
Sweetwater Country Club
4400 Palm Royale
Also online via Zoom - see Facebook!
Sugar Land, TX 77479
United States of America
District Site
Venue Map
Run for a good Cause!  Run for our Heroes: SLRC 5K Run.
Rotary's 6 Areas of Focus
Club Executives & Directors
President Elect
Past President
Vice President
Club Service
Community Service
International Service
Next Generation Service
Vocational Service
Public Relations
Club Foundation Chair
Polio Plus Chair
Fall Classic Co-Chair
Fall Classic Co-Chair
Veterans Day Co-Chair
Veterans Day Co-Chair
Rotary In Action - Santa's Exchange 2019
Facebook Feed
Home Page Stories
Sugar Land Rotary Installs New Board of Directors.  President Margie Connolly challenges club members to "Be the Inspiration" that encourages "People of Action."
District Governor Elect Gary Gillen Installs the new Board in a lovely "Evening in Tuscany" event at Sweetwater Country Club on June 20, 2018.
Past President, Assistant Governor, and active Rotarian Rick Smith was named Rotarian of the Year by President Jim Munnell at the last meeting of the 33rd year of Sugar Land Rotary Club.  Congratulations Rick!   A well-deserved award!
Sugar Land Rotary Making a Difference in our Community by honoring first responders at our annual Fall Classic Fundraiser on Sept. 23!
Our hearts are filled with sadness about the recent devastation in Texas and in the Houston area due to Hurricane Harvey. At the same time, we are so grateful for those who are first responders and neighbors who continue to reach out to help those with tremendous needs. To be able to support Sugar Land Rotary Charities, we will hold our Fall Classic Fundraiser on Saturday, September 23 honoring first responders.
On June 21, Sugar Land Rotary installed a new slate of officers for 2017-18 that includes Jim Munnell, President; Margie Connelly, President-Elect; Rebecca Deurlein, Vice-President, Lerleen Hawkins, Secretary; Raleigh Bailes, Jr., Treasurer; Sergeant-at-Arms, Tabb Dye, and Rick Smith, Past-President. The newly installed Rotary president, Jim Munnell, thanked all of the club members and especially Rick Smith who served as president the past year. Under Smith's leadership, the club received an award as the No. 1 Medium-sized Club in District 5890.
President Rick Smith is installed to his position by District 5890 Governor Elect while his wife Kim looks on.
And congratulations to 2016 Rotarian of the Year Margie Connolly AND our Hall of Fame addition Robert Walters.
Join us and invite your local Sugar Land Friends and Family as our club hosts a mayoral candidate debate on April 27th, 2016 from 11:30am - 1:30pm in the Sweetwater Country Club Ballroom. Cost is $15, lunch is included.
Sugar Land Rotary was honored to be able to donate $5000 each to the Fort Bend YMCA for their Summer Camp Program in the Four Corners Neighborhood of Fort Bend County AND to the Literacy Council of Fort Bend to aid in funding their GED program which teaches students what they need to know to get their GEDs to improve both their lives and the communities around them.
Sugar Land Rotary Club honored Fireman Johnathan Vance and Police Officer Tuan-Huy Tran as Fireman and Police Officer of the Year for the City of Sugar Land.  We had GREAT attendance and enjoyed hearing from both gentleman. In addition to our honorees we also had an opportunity to ask questions of Police Chief Doug Brinkley and Fire Chief Juan Adame of the City of Sugar Land. It was a great question and answer session where I think everyone learned a little more about the expectations of both departments for their personnel.
Run for a good Cause!  Run for our Heroes: SLRC 5K Run.
Thank you healthcare workers. These signs are for sale to raise funds to buy food and PPE for healthcare workers on the front line (click here to donate to the SLRC). Please see our Facebook events for our next Zoom online meeting, and join us in this effort.
New yard sign logo! Contact to purchase one, and all proceeds go to supporting the front line!
Fall Classic Casino Night - Cancelled
Casino Night
Support multiple non-profit organizations with a donation.  Please donate here! See our Letter of Cancellation here.
RI 2019-2020 Theme
Birthdays & Anniversaries
Member Birthdays:
  • David L. Shaw
    July 9
  • Vlada Matytsin
    July 15
  • Courtney Hochhalter
    July 18
  • Joshua Griffin
    July 20
  • Lerleen Hawkins
    July 25
  • Bouche Mickey
    July 27
  • Ward Pendleton
    July 29
Spouse/Partner Birthdays:
  • Nick Dixon
    July 8
  • Skip Croft
    July 9
  • Jack Brady
    Jan Brady
    July 1
  • Natalie Lerner
    July 2
    July 18
  • Cathy Hinchman, LMT
    George Eckhardt
    July 24
Join Date:
  • Dean Carpenter
    July 1, 1989
    31 years
  • Jack Brady
    July 1, 1977
    43 years
  • Susan Barnes
    July 1, 2016
    4 years
  • Todd Breton
    July 1, 2016
    4 years
  • David Skadeland
    July 19, 2001
    19 years
Mailing Address
Sugar Land Rotary
PO Box 16549
Sugar Land, TX 77496-6549
Organizations we support:  Access Health, Asians Against Domestic Abuse, Barrington Place Elementary Broncos, Behind the Badge Charities, BBBS, Boy Scouts, Child Advocates of Fort Bend, Children Change Colombia, Human Needs Ministry, Easterseals, Fort Bend Education Foundation, YMCA,  Fort Bend Partnership for Youth, Fort Bend Rainbow Room, FBS, FBWC, GiGi's Playhouse, The Heart of Texas Foundation, America's Family of Coaches, Jackie Spellman Scholarship Foundation, Literacy Council, Living Water International, Oakland Medical Center, Parks Youth Ranch, PCCPA, Project Smile, Rise Against Hunger, RBJX, RI, Interact Club, RYLA, National Exchange Club, Second Mile, SL Art Center & Gallery, SL CAF, SL Heritage  Foundation, TX Dragon Boat Association, The Arc, FB Boys Choir of Texas, The Landing, WCJC, YIP