Club Information

Welcome to Sugar Land Rotary!

Sugar Land Rotary

Service Above Self

First, Second and Third Wednesdays of each month 11:45 am -1:00 pm
Sweetwater Country Club
4400 Palm Royale
Sugar Land, TX  77479
United States of America
District Site
Venue Map
Mailing Address
Sugar Land Rotary
PO Box 16549
Sugar Land, TX 77496-6549
Club Executives & Directors
President Elect
Club Foundation Chair
Upcoming Events
Facebook Feed
Home Page Stories
Sugar Land Rotary Installs New Board of Directors.  President Margie Connolly challenges club members to "Be the Inspiration" that encourages "People of Action."
District Governor Elect Gary Gillen Installs the new Board in a lovely "Evening in Tuscany" event at Sweetwater Country Club on June 20, 2018.
Past President, Assistant Governor, and active Rotarian Rick Smith was named Rotarian of the Year by President Jim Munnell at the last meeting of the 33rd year of Sugar Land Rotary Club.  Congratulations Rick!   A well-deserved award!
Sugar Land Rotary Making a Difference in our Community by honoring first responders at our annual Fall Classic Fundraiser on Sept. 23!
Our hearts are filled with sadness about the recent devastation in Texas and in the Houston area due to Hurricane Harvey. At the same time, we are so grateful for those who are first responders and neighbors who continue to reach out to help those with tremendous needs. To be able to support Sugar Land Rotary Charities, we will hold our Fall Classic Fundraiser on Saturday, September 23 honoring first responders.
On June 21, Sugar Land Rotary installed a new slate of officers for 2017-18 that includes Jim Munnell, President; Margie Connelly, President-Elect; Rebecca Deurlein, Vice-President, Lerleen Hawkins, Secretary; Raleigh Bailes, Jr., Treasurer; Sergeant-at-Arms, Tabb Dye, and Rick Smith, Past-President. The newly installed Rotary president, Jim Munnell, thanked all of the club members and especially Rick Smith who served as president the past year. Under Smith's leadership, the club received an award as the No. 1 Medium-sized Club in District 5890.
President Rick Smith is installed to his position by District 5890 Governor Elect while his wife Kim looks on.
And congratulations to 2016 Rotarian of the Year Margie Connolly AND our Hall of Fame addition Robert Walters.
Sugar Land Rotary donates $9000 to Children of the Andes. Children of the Andes is an educational project initiated in 1995 by the Rotary Club Quito Valle Interoceanico based in Quito, Ecuador. The aim is to support communities with low resources through educational projects for children, youth and adults. 
Join us and invite your local Sugar Land Friends and Family as our club hosts a mayoral candidate debate on April 27th, 2016 from 11:30am - 1:30pm in the Sweetwater Country Club Ballroom. Cost is $15, lunch is included.
Sugar Land Rotary was honored to be able to donate $5000 each to the Fort Bend YMCA for their Summer Camp Program in the Four Corners Neighborhood of Fort Bend County AND to the Literacy Council of Fort Bend to aid in funding their GED program which teaches students what they need to know to get their GEDs to improve both their lives and the communities around them.
Sugar Land Rotary Club honored Fireman Johnathan Vance and Police Officer Tuan-Huy Tran as Fireman and Police Officer of the Year for the City of Sugar Land.  We had GREAT attendance and enjoyed hearing from both gentleman. In addition to our honorees we also had an opportunity to ask questions of Police Chief Doug Brinkley and Fire Chief Juan Adame of the City of Sugar Land. It was a great question and answer session where I think everyone learned a little more about the expectations of both departments for their personnel.
Fall Classic Casino Night - 9/22/18
Birthdays & Anniversaries
Member Birthdays:
  • Chuck Chance
    January 3
  • Jim Munnell
    January 4
  • Greg Pendley
    January 7
  • David Skadeland
    January 8
  • James Patterson
    January 20
  • Roy Wiffin
    January 24
Spouse/Partner Birthdays:
  • Debbie Marcell
    January 23
  • Katie Rahim
    January 30
  • Marty Clayton
    January 3
  • Hal Jay
    January 27
Join Date:
  • Dipika Contractor
    January 1, 2014
    5 years
  • Hal Jay
    January 1, 1987
    32 years
  • Mark Heuchert
    January 6, 2000
    19 years
  • Margie Connolly
    January 9, 2013
    6 years
  • Rafael Manrique de Lara
    January 10, 1994
    25 years
  • Lynn Borker
    January 13, 2010
    9 years
  • Ashlee Valavala
    January 15, 2013
    6 years
  • Raleigh Bailes
    January 21, 2015
    4 years
  • Laura Winters
    January 27, 2016
    3 years
  • Flo Dixon
    January 31, 2018
    1 year